Home
Allergen-free, nutritious, delicious pudding that everyone can enjoy!

Allergen-free, nutritious, delicious pudding that everyone can enjoy!

I love chocolate pudding! When I first learned that I was allergic and intolerant to so many different foods, I was pretty devastated to think I’d never be able to eat chocolate pudding again. In fact, I mourned the loss of so many different foods from my diet at the time, but I actually cried when I realized chocolate pudding would be off the menu forever.

Several years later, I moved to Ecuador, and I had this branch of rapidly ripening bananas in my house every week, and sometimes I couldn’t eat them all fast enough. It was time to get creative. Putting a simple recipe together (which actually started out as a batch of brown rice milk!) turned out to be super easy. This wonderful pudding contains NO dairy, wheat, eggs, sugar, colors, flavors or anything else artificial. “How on earth do you make chocolate pudding without any ingredients?” I hear you ask.

There are a couple of ways to go about it: to blend or not to blend, to strain or not to strain. I’ve tried every which way to make this pudding just to observe and taste the differing results. In the end, I don’t blend, I don’t strain. I like my rice pudding to have rice in it. I like the texture of the raw chocolate mixed with the bananas and wholegrain rice. The bananas make it sweet. I like it for breakfast too. Where is it written that you can’t have pudding for breakfast? When it’s this simple and healthy there is no reason you can’t. Enjoy this pudding, and please let me know how it goes!

Banana Chocolate Rice Pudding Recipe:

2 cups cooked wholegrain rice
3-4 ripe bananas
2 tbsp raw 100% cacao powder
1/2-1 cup water
1/2 tsp nutmeg or cinnamon

When you cook the wholegrain rice, don’t strain or rinse it, just leave it in the pot and add the rest of the ingredients. It doesn’t matter if the rice is overcooked and slightly soggy, actually, it’s even better if it is.

Slice the bananas straight into the pot with the cooked wholegrain rice. Add the raw cacao powder and mix it in well, then add the water (less if your rice is overcooked, more if it’s drier) and put it back on the heat.

Cook the mixture, stirring continuously until it’s blended together. The cooked bananas will become paste and vanish into the mix. When it begins to pop and bubble, stir vigorously until the bananas and chocolate have blended completely into the rice.

Serve hot or cold with a sprinkle of nutmeg or cinnamon over the top. Garnish with banana slices.

If you like it sweeter, trickle some honey over the top with a sprinkle of cinnamon (a wonderful medicinal combination too!)

Buen Provecho!

Please tell me what you think:

