Home

Chocolate Spaghetti CustardThere are chilly winter days when all I want to do is curl up in bed and hug my pillows. Some days, when it’s wet and windy outside, it seems there is just no way to get warm. That kind of chill gets into your bones and keeps your teeth chattering all day. It isn’t fun.

When I was playing with this recipe which, I confess, started out as something else altogether, I realized that I had found the answer to several problems all at once. The almond flour and water (i.e. almond milk) makes this wonderful comfort food dairy free. The brown rice pasta is gluten-free and you can even pick your favorite pasta to mix into the warm custard. I chose fettuccine.

I like to use brown rice pasta because it feels like a meal and tastes like dessert and is both warm and filling. Can you ask more of a sugar-free pudding? I think not. It’s so good that I’ll just have dessert and skip the main meal! Leftover cold Chocolate Spaghetti Custard makes a great breakfast too. Add some sliced strawberries or a handful of blackberries or raspberries for a wonderfully fresh taste.

Chocolate Spaghetti Custard Recipe:

water to boil
gluten-free pasta
3 tbsp almond flour
2 cups water
1 tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot
1/2 cup organic cocoa beans (or nibs or 100% cacao powder)
2 bananas
1/2 tsp nutmeg

In a lidded saucepan, boil the water. Add the pasta and cook until al dente.
In the blender, place the almond flour, water, cornstarch, cocoa beans, peeled bananas and nutmeg. Blend until smooth. Pour into in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring continuously until thickened.
Drain the pasta and mix into the custard. Pour into bowls and serve hot with a sprinkle of nutmeg.

Please tell me what you think:

