Home

banchocshakeIn a hurry to get out the door, the bus is leaving in 15 minutes, and I haven’t had breakfast yet. What to do? Easy! A shake does the trick every single time. My favorite shakes always include organic bananas because they eliminate the need for both milk and sugar. Instead of milk, I use rainwater filtered through activated carbon. Put enough bananas in the blender and you have a deliciously rich thick-shake.

Shakes are also great when you have bananas ripening faster than you can eat them, and then what do you do with all these over-ripe bananas? Six in the blender makes enough for two or three servings and you can spread the banana love around with family and friends. Embracing my monkey soul has become second  nature and I rarely have to think too long about what to do with bananas ripening quickly on the branch.

I use my own chocolate in this recipe; organic beans bought from a nearby farm and fermented, dried, toasted and ground at home. Did you know that organic cacao beans contain magnesium? Pure organic chocolate is not bad for you (but everything else mixed with it during commercial manufacturing is lethal!)

The almond meal I used today comes from outside of Ecuador, but I do have an almond tree in the yard and, as soon as I figure out how to get those tough little suckers open, I can make my own almond meal. I always add a sprinkle of organic nutmeg too, just because it’s my favorite spice and bananas and nutmeg seem to be made for each other. Breakfast on the run has never been this good!

Banana Chocolate Almond Milkshake Recipe:

6 over-ripe bananas, peeled
2 tbsp organic cacao powder
1 tbsp organic almond meal
1/4 tsp organic nutmeg

Break up the bananas and put them into the blender with the rest of the ingredients and add enough water to almost cover the bananas. Add ice if you want it cold. Blend for a minute or two until smooth. Pour into a glass and enjoy the healthiest chocolate shake in the world!

Please tell me what you think:

