Home
Banana Nachos

Banana Nachos

Hands up if you’ve ever licked a plate clean! I know, right? Confessing can be embarrassing. My mother would be disgusted! But some dishes are so good, I feel like some kind of psychological trauma will surely take place if I leave even the tiniest scrap on the plate. Banana Nachos is one of those dishes. It’s fast, easy, and always leaves me wondering why I didn’t make more!

I use ripe plantain bananas for this recipe. Actually, I just use one banana and a small handful of natural organic corn chips, and a little slice of fresh organic farm cheese because if I made more than that I’d eat it all, and we all know where that would go! It’s seasoned with wild cilantro from my garden and some of my favorite spices. This is definitely a go-to recipe if I’m planning on watching a movie in the hammock and don’t want to fuss with dinner. It’s also great party food, and all my friends love it.

This recipe is for one or two portions. I make it in the frying pan and put the lid on during the last part of cooking. To make more portions, I’d recommend following the first step, then moving it all into a deep baking tray – before you put the corn chips on – to finish in the oven. I serve this with my own home-made chili sauce, a few sliced olives and some fresh guacamole on top. It’s good for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a snack. Once you’ve tried it, you’ll make it again!

Banana Nachos Recipe:

2 tbsp olive oil
1 ripe plantain banana
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
1-2 tomatoes
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 cup organic corn chips
1/4lb (100g) fresh farm cheese (or mozzarella)
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp paprika
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a frying pan. Peel and dice the banana, finely chop the onion and garlic and add to the pan to saute for 2-3 minutes. Add the tomato and let it cook together for a few minutes. Add the cilantro.

Grate the cheese. Sprinkle the corn chips evenly over the banana mixture and sprinkle the cheese over the top. Sprinkle the turmeric, paprika, salt and pepper and cover the pan. Cook for about 3-4 minutes until the cheese is melted. Serve with sliced olives, guacamole and hot sauce if you like.

Buen Provecho!

Did you know that I give Cooking Classes in Ecuador? Let me know if you’d like to come sometime!

Please tell me what you think:

