Home
bananaomelette

Banana Omelette with freshly picked basil and tomatoes

Some mornings, I wake up feeling like my stomach has been hollowed out by gremlins during the night. A hearty breakfast is the only cure for that feeling and that’s when the ripe plantain bananas get involved. Actually, I never excuses to involve bananas in my diet, but I do like variety. Delicious foods that look good are the bomb! I love the bright colors in the pan, yellow, red and green. It’s a good start to a good day to wake up to a nicely presented and tasty breakfast.

The banana is quartered lengthwise first, then sliced into small pieces and sauteed with chopped onion and garlic. I prefer ripe plantain bananas, but this omelette can also be made with green plantain bananas. Just add a little extra oil, and toss the bananas for a few minutes until they just begin to brown before you add the onion and garlic. While that’s going on, I go downstairs and pick the tomatoes and basil from the garden. There is nothing on earth as nutritious and delectable as freshly picked vegetables and herbs. The aroma alone is enough to cause drooling in my kitchen.

When I have special guests, I serve this omelette with a few slices of avocado and some home-made chili sauce. Every plate is licked clean, and the diners begin their day with full bellies and happy smiles, including me!

Banana Omelette Recipe:

Olive oil
1 plantain banana (ripe or green)
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
3 organic eggs, whisked with 1tbsp water
pinch sea salt & freshly ground black pepper
1 ripe tomato, diced
1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
1/2 avocado (optional)

Saute the banana, onion and garlic for a few minutes.

Whisk the eggs with salt and pepper then add the tomatoes and basil.  Add the bananas to the egg mixture and pour it back into the frypan. Cover and cook for 4-5 minutes until the top starts to bubble up and rise.

Carefully lift the edge of the omelette and flip it over so that the top edge meets the bottom edge, making a half-circle. Serve immediately with slices of avocado, your favorite chili sauce and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice.

Buen Provecho!

Did you know I give Cooking Classes and Chocolate Workshops? Get in touch if you’d like to come!

 

Please tell me what you think:

